PLEASE READ       ADDITIONS; CORRECTIONS OR COMMENTS    

Global Gazetteer of the American Revolution
© 2006 John A. Robertson All rights reserved.
N   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y Z    HOME    TOP
Location St Co Latitude Longitude Comment   Na Ne Ni No Nu   Top Data C
Nacoochee GA Whi 34.684 -83.717 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nacoochee.htm  
Nacoochee Valley GA Whi 34.672 -83.666 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nacoocheevalley.htm  
Nantucket Sound MA Duk 41.333 -70.250 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nantucket-snd.htm  
Narragansett Bay RI New 41.54106 -71.39285 Naval action; Capt. Abraham Whipple*; RI Sloop Katy (or Providence)Unk. British commander; Sloop Diana; 15 June 1775 http://gaz.jrshelby.com/narragansett.htm 3
Narragansett Beach RI Was 41.437 -71.451 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/narragansett-b.htm  
Narrows; The NJ; NY   40.627 -74.056 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/narrows.htm  
Nashborough; Fort TN Dav 36.17190 -86.78058 2 Apr 1781 - Battle of the Bluffs - Dragging Canoe & Chicamaugans attacked - were driven off http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nashborough.htm 4
Nassau; Fort; Bahamas Bah   25.078298 -77.346101 Skirmishes: / 3/4/1776 Fort Nassau; New Providence; Bahamas. *Capt. Samuel Nicholas vs. Fort Nassau commander? / 5/1/1777 Nassau Harbor; New Providence; Bahamas. ???? / 1/25/1778 New Providence; Bahamas; *Capt. John Peck Rathburn; Continental Navy Sloop Providence vs. fort commanders / 1782 *Don Juan de Cagigal; Gov. Gen. of Cuba and Havanna captured New Providence / 4/14 - 19/1783 New Providence; Bahamas; fort commanders vs. *Col. Andrew Deveaux / (JAR) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newprovidence.htm 4
Nassau Harbor; Bahamas Bah   25.0797 -77.332 Skirmish; 5/1/1777 Nassau Harbor; New Providence; Bahamas. ???? (JAR) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newprovidence.htm 5
Natchez MS Ada     See Fort Panmure http://gaz.jrshelby.com/fortbute.htm  
Naushon MA Duk 41.483 -70.757 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/naushon.htm  
Nautilus Island ME Han 44.376 -68.806 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nautilus.htm  
Navesink NJ Mon 40.400 -74.035 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/navesink.htm  
Neely's Bend TN Dav 36.25673 -86.67835 August 1780 Neely killed. Daughter captive of Creek for several years years. (JAR) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/neelys-bend.htm 3
Negro Head Point         See Peter Point. Incomplete. http://gaz.jrshelby.com/peterpoint.htm  
Nelson Point; Fort VA PoC 36.848 -76.303 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/ftnelson.htm  
Location St Co Latitude Longitude Comment   Na Ne Ni No   Top Data C
Nelson's Ferry SC Cla; Ora 33.4307 -80.3262 Skirmish; 14 Dec 1780: British boat burned by Marions men. (JAR) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nelson.htm 5
Neowee TN Lou 35.655618 -84.242313 1776– Christian found it [deserted?]; destroyed it. (CPI) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/neowee.htm 3
Nevis     17.156 -62.591 See Charles; Fort http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nevis.htm  
Newark NJ Ess 40.736 -74.172 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newark.htm  
Newark Bay NJ Hud 40.666 -74.138 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newarkbay.htm  
New Bedford MA Bri 41.636 -70.934 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newbedford.htm  
New Bern NC Cra 35.121 -77.077 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newbern.htm  
New Bridge GA GA Scr 32.8315516 -81.5662193 Skirmish; *Capts. Shelby/Carr vs. Maj. Dill; 1 May 1781 (PJO) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newbridge.htm 5
New Bridge NJ NJ Ber 40.91399 -74.03020 Bridge location shown. 17 or 18 actions from 1776 thru 1781 in the immediate vicinity. http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newbridge-nj.htm bridge 5;other 1-3
New Bridge NJ NJ Ber 40.91436 -74.03081 9/14/1777 Lt. Col. Aaron Burr seizes British outpost http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newbridge-nj.htm 3
New Brunswick NJ Mid     See Brunswick NJ http://gaz.jrshelby.com/brunswicknj.htm  
Newburgh NY Ora 41.500 -74.010 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newburgh.htm  
New Castle NH Roc 43.066 -70.717 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newcastle.htm  
Newcastle; off NoS   55.090 -1.292 off e. coast of England. Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/offnewcastle.htm  
New Cut SC SC Cha 32.7210113 -80.1634296 Raid; Lt.Col. Henry Lee vs. Lt.Col. Craig; 12-15 Jan 1782: / 14 Jan 1782. American artillery fired at British gunboats in New Cut. / http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newcut.htm 3
New Cut NY NY Roc 41.148 -73.010 Incomplete. Location questionable. http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newcut-ny.htm  
New Garden MH NC Gui 36.090 -79.889 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newgarden.htm  
New Haven CT NeH 41.308 -72.928 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newhaven.htm  
Location St Co Latitude Longitude Comment   Na Ne Ni No   Top Data C
New Jersey; off Atl       See Atlantic; off NJ coast http://gaz.jrshelby.com/off-nj.htm  
New London CT NeL 41.356 -72.099 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newlondon.htm  
New Orleans LA Orl 29.962 -90.065 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/neworleans.htm  
Newport RI New 41.490 -71.312 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newport.htm  
Newport Harbor RI New 41.483 -71.337 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newport-hbr.htm  
Newport News VA NNC 36.979 -76.428 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newportnews.htm  
New Providence BAH Bah Nas     See Nassau http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newprovidence.htm  
New Providence NC NC Mec 35.036253 -80.76766 Large Southern Continental Army and Militia Encampment; October –December 1780 http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newprovidencenc.htm 5
New Richmond SC Edg 33.5354129 -82.01372750 2 Aug 1775; *Capt. Hamilton; "Liberty Boys" vs. Thomas Brown; beating and tarring http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newrichmond.htm 5
New Richmond; Fort LA EBR 30.454563 -91.189286 Siege; 21 Sep 1779 *Don Bernardo de Gálvez vs. Lt.Col. Alexander Dickson (JAR) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/fortbute.htm 4
New Rochelle NY Wes 40.920 -73.787 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newrochelle.htm  
New Savannah GA Ric 33.37091 -81.94788 Locale http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newsavannah.htm 3
Newton NJ Sus 41.058 -74.752 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newton.htm  
Newtown Battle NY Che 42.04441 -76.73284 8/29/1779. *Gen. Hand vs. Butler (EB) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newtown.htm 4
Newtown burned NY Che 42.03874 -76.73574 8/30/1779. *Gen. Hand vs. Butler. Newtown burned (EB) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newtown-burned.htm 4
Newtown Rifle action NY Che 42.02933 -76.71726 8/29/1779. *Gen. Hand vs. Butler. Rifle action before Newtown (EB) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newtown-rifles.htm 4
Newtychaning PA Bra 41.79563 -76.4645 8/9/1779 Col. Proctor burned; 28 houses finished; 6 not finished (EB) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newtychaning.htm 0
New Windsor NY Ora 41.477 -74.023 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newwindsor.htm  
New York NY NeY 40.717 -74.003 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/newyork.htm  
Nickajack TN Mar 34.99583 -85.595 1780 Sevier burned (CPI)) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nickajack.htm 3
Ninety Six SC Grw 34.1459603 -82.0192846 Siege 18-21 Nov 1775 Maj. Andrew Williamson vs Maj. Joseph Robinson / Siege 22 May - 19 June 1781. MG Greene vs Lt.Col. Cruger / Numerous actions at or in vicinity (PJO) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/ninetysix.htm 5
Location St Co Latitude Longitude Comment   Na Ne Ni No   Top Data C
Noddle Island MA Suf 42.375 -71.038 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/noddle-i.htm  
Norfolk VA NoC 36.853 -76.284 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/norfolk.htm  
Normanskill NY Alb 42.702 -73.947 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/normanskill.htm  
North Carolina coast; off         See Atlantic; off NC coast http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nccoast.htm  
Norridgewock ME Som 44.714 -69.797 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/norridgewock.htm  
North Castle NY Wes 41.126 -73.714 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/northcastle.htm  
North Channel Sco; Ire   55.451 -7.051 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/n-channel.htm  
North Church; Old MA Suf 42.366 -71.055 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/o-n-church.htm  
North Pacolet River         See Earle's Ford http://gaz.jrshelby.com/earlesford.htm  
North Sea     56.328 4.221 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/north-sea.htm  
North Wales PA Mon 40.213 -75.279 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/northwales.htm  
Norwalk CT Fai 41.118 -73.408 Incomplete http://gaz.jrshelby.com/norwalk.htm  
Nottely NC Che 35.02817 -84.12077 Burned by Williamson 9/20 and 9/24/1776 (CPI) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nottely.htm 3
Nucassee NC Mac 35.182974 -83.381852 1776 Williamson burned; Rutherford burned. (CPI) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nucassee.htm 3
Nundayeli NC Swa 35.33064 -83.59334 Burned by Williamson 9/20 and 9/24/1776 (CPI) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nundayeli.htm 3
Nununyi NC Swa 35.47717 -83.31997 Moore destroyed 10/1776 (CPI) http://gaz.jrshelby.com/nununyi.htm 3
End   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W Y Z    HOME    TOP